What can I do to make your day better?

Healthy Green JuiceI walked in to a juice bar the other day in Ashland, Oregon. Instead of being asked “What can I get you?” I was surprised by the question: “What can I do to make your day better?”

From a management standpoint, I was blown away at how a simple question could change my opinion of a business. All of a sudden, I had more respect for the Ashland Food Store. I thought if more businesses can approach their customers with this much care, people will remember and pass it on. Customer satisfaction will increase and referrals will increase.

From a human standpoint, one little phase can change a person’s entire day. I felt better just because he asked me how he could make my day better. This is the true Art of Conscientiousness. Did he know that I needed something to improve my day? Or does he just try and improve everyone’s day?

President Obama and Daniel Hernandez in Tucson, Arizona at U of A Memorial Service
President Obama and Daniel Hernandez in Tucson, Arizona at U of A Memorial Service

Thank you Mr. Juice Bar Man. President Obama calls for more civility in our community and you are a representation of civility. I am convinced there are more people like you out there, we just need to find them and start a movement. We need to show each other there are good, thoughtful, and polite people around us. People don’t have to turn against one another. Like Obama said, “How we treat one another is entirely up to us.”

Aesop first said, “United we stand, divided we fall?” If we can all stand together, we can make a difference. The world can be a better place. We just have to try. We just have to be conscientious.

Read and watch videos about President Obama’s speech:
Huffington Post
CBS News
CNN
Political Ticker

Leave a Reply

